19th Greater Cleveland Sports Awards

Celebrate the best in Cleveland Sports! Greater Cleveland Sports Awards is the premier annual sports fundraising event in Cleveland.

18th Greater Cleveland Sports Awards


Award winners have been announced for 18th Greater Cleveland Sports Awards! 

Finalists were selected by local sports and media outlets who chose outstanding athletes from Northeast Ohio in the categories below. Winners from each category were announced live at the event. Each award recipient is highlighted in red below. 

Male High School Athlete of the Year presented by University Hospitals Sports Medicine

  • Joey Baughman, Football, Wadsworth High School, Wadsworth 
  • Ronald Lee, Football, Euclid High School, Euclid 
  • Tyreke Smith, Football, Cleveland Heights High School, Cleveland Heights 

Female High School Athlete of the Year presented by University Hospitals Sports Medicine

  • Naz Hillmon, Basketball, Gilmour Academy, Gates Mills
  • Olivia Howell, Cross Country/Track & Field, Solon High School, Solon
  • Shannon Williams, Volleyball, Brecksville-Broadview Heights High School, Broadview Heights

Male Collegiate Athlete of the Year

  • Reggie Jagers III, Track & Field, Kent State University, Solon 
  • Travis Tarnowski, Football, Ashland University, North Royalton
  • University of Mount Union Football Team, Football, University of Mount Union, Alliance 
  • Denzel Ward, Football, The Ohio State University, Nordonia 

Female Collegiate Athlete of the Year

  • Kelsey Bittinger, Volleyball, Kent State University, Strongsville
  • Marisa Rinaldi, Track & Field, University of Mount Union, Tallmadge
  • Hallie Thome, Basketball, University of Michigan, Chagrin Falls

Professional Athlete of the Year presented by FOX Sports Ohio

  • LeBron James, NBA, forward, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • Corey Kluber, MLB, pitcher, Cleveland Indians
  • Jose Ramirez, MLB, second baseman, Cleveland Indians
  • Joe Thomas, NFL, offensive lineman, Cleveland Browns 

Recipients of additional awards for the 18th Greater Cleveland Sports Awards are as follows: