Looking for the latest news and updates on the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission and its events? You've come to the right place.

  • Finalists Announced for the 16th Annual Greater Cleveland Sports Awards

    CLEVELAND (Jan. 21, 2016) – Finalists for the 16th Annual Greater Cleveland Sports Awards presented by Medical Mutual and FirstMerit were announced Thursday by the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission. Each year the Sports Awards honors the best and brightest of Northeast Ohio sports and brings together current, past and future sports celebrities and personalities. The event will be held Thursday, January 28 at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Ballroom.

    Links: Sports Awards Home Page  |  Buy Tickets  |  Past Award Winners

    A very limited amount of tickets and tables for the event are available and can be purchased here. All tickets and tables include access to the cocktail hour, dinner and awards show. The event also features a 75-plus item sports memorabilia and experience auction.

    The event is the primary annual fundraiser for the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission. The Sports Commission, a 501c(3) non-profit, aims to improve the economy, image and quality of life in Greater Cleveland by attracting, managing and creating major sporting events.

    16th Annual Greater Cleveland Sports Awards Finalists
    High School Athlete of the Year presented by University Hospitals Sports Medicine
    Esa Ahmad, Basketball, Shaker Heights High School
    Alecia Farina, Gymnastics, Brecksville-Broadview Heights High School
    Hallie Thome, Basketball, Chagrin Falls High School

    Amateur Athlete of the Year
    Tianna Bartoletta, USA Track and Field, Elyria
    Emily Infeld, USA Track and Field, University Heights
    Cleveland Baseball Federation Softball Team - RBI World Series Champion

    Collegiate Athlete of the Year
    Connor Cook, Football, Michigan State University, Hinckley
    University of Mount Union Football Team
    Nathan Tomasello, Wrestling, Ohio State University, Parma
    Aaron White, Basketball, University of Iowa, Strongsville

    Professional Athlete of the Year presented by FoxSports Ohio
    Michael Brantley, Cleveland Indians
    Gary Barnidge, Cleveland Browns
    LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

    Cleveland sports broadcaster Jim Donovan will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a member of the Cleveland sports community that has dedicated their career and life to the city of Cleveland. Past recipients include Tom Hamilton, Doug Dieken, Bernie Kosar and Austin Carr.

    The Cleveland Clinic Courage Award will be presented to Westlake teenager Colin Teets. Teets suffered a debilitating brain injury 8 years ago while playing hockey. After numerous surgeries, having to be revived twice, and years of rehabilitation to learn basic motor functions, Colin returned to the ice last winter as a member of the Westlake High School varsity hockey team. He would go on to score a goal during a game at Quicken Loans Arena.

    Read: Inspiring hockey player Colin Teets to receive Cleveland Clinic Courage Award at 16th Annual Greater Cleveland Sports Awards

    A special video will reveal the Horseshoe Casino Cleveland Best Moment in Cleveland Sports will be announced at the event.