Greater Cleveland Sports Commission

Greater Cleveland Sports Awards


Sports Awards has honored many outstanding Northeast Ohio athletes in it's 20-year history, from high school stars to professional athletes. See a list of all award winners in all categories below.


High School Athlete of the Year presented by University Hospitals Sports Medicine

2000: Brandon Childress, St. Peter Chanel High School
2001: LeBron James, Basketball, St. Vincent St. Mary High School
2002: LeBron James, Basketball, St. Vincent St. Mary High School
2003: Ted Ginn, Jr., Football, Glenville High School
2004: Tyrell Sutton, Football, Arch-Hoban High School
2005: DeLone Carter, Football, Copley High School
2006: Jessica Beard, Track & Field, Euclid High School
2007: Sean Bedevelsky, Football, Brunswick High School
2008: Lauren Davis, Tennis, Gilmour Academy
2009: Collin Palmer, Wrestling, Saint Edward High School
2010: Stetson Allie, Baseball, St. Edward High School
2011: Mitch Trubisky, Football, Mentor High School
2012: Mitch Trubisky, Football, Mentor High School
2013: Dante Booker, Football, St. Vincent St. Mary
2014: Mitch Guadagni, Football, Hudson High School
2015: Alecia Farina, Gymnastics, Brecksville-Broadview Heights HS
2016: Jaylen Harris, Football, Cleveland Heights HS
2017: Female: Shannon Williams, Volleyball, Brecksville Broadview Heights
          Male: Joey Baughman, Football, Wadsworth High School
2018: Female: Oliva Howell, Track & Field/Cross Country, Solon High School
          Male: Malvin Gblah, Soccer, Lakewood High School


Collegiate Athlete of the Year presented by H. Jack's Plumbing & Heating

2000: Semeka Randall, Basketball, Tennessee
2001: Mike Doss, Football, The Ohio State University
2002: Maurice Clarett, Football, The Ohio State University
2003: Alex Stepanovich, Football, The Ohio State University
2004: Ted Ginn, Jr., Football, The Ohio State University
2005: Tyrell Sutton, Football, Northwestern University
2006: Troy Smith, Football, The Ohio State University
2007: Michelle Sikes, Track & Field, Wake Forest University
2008: J. Jaggers, Wrestling, The Ohio State University
2009: The University of Akron's Men’s Soccer Team
2010: The University of Akron's Men’s Soccer Team
2011: The University of Akron's Men’s Soccer Team
2012: Kent State University Baseball Team
2013: Connor Cook, Football, Michigan State Unviersity
2014: Kevin Burke, Football, University of Mount Union
2015: University of Mount Union Football Team
2016: John Carroll University Football Team
2017: Female: Hallie Thome, Basketball, University of Michigan
          Male: Reggie Jagers III, Track & Field, Kent State University
2018: Female: Rachel Bender, Soccer, Baldwin-Wallace University
          Male: The University of Akron's Men’s Soccer Team


Amatuer Athlete of the Year 

2001: Diana Munz, USA Swimming
2002: Juan McPherson, USA Boxing
2003: Diana Munz, USA Swimming
2004: Tim Mack, USA Track & Field
2005: Tianna Madison, USA Track & Field
2006: Tianna Madison, USA Track & Field
2007: Raynell Williams, USA Boxing
2008: Raynell Williams, USA Boxing
2009: Jessica Beard, USA Track and Field
2010: Katie Spotz, USA Rowing
2011: Jessica Beard, USA Track and Field
2012: Tianna Bartoletta, USA Track & Field
2013: Dartanyon Crockett, USA Judo
2014: Kelli Stack, USA Hockey
2015: 2015 RBI World Series Champion (Cleveland Baseball Fed.)
2016: Charles Conwell, USA Boxing


Professional Athlete of the Year presented by FOX Sports Ohio

2000:  Manny Ramirez, Cleveland Indians
2001: Jim Thome, Cleveland Indians
2002: Jim Thome, Cleveland Indians
2003: Ben Curtis, British Open Championship
2004: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2005: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2006: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2007: C.C. Sabathia, Cleveland Indians
2008: Cliff Lee, Cleveland Indians
2009: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2010: Josh Cribbs, Cleveland Browns
2011: Asdrubal Cabrera, Cleveland Indians
2012: Kyrie Irving, Cleveland Cavaliers
2013: Josh Gordon, Cleveland Browns
2014: Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians
2015: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2016: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2017: Corey Kluber, Cleveland Indians|
2018: Baker Mayfield, Cleveland Browns


Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Cuyahoga Community College

2002: Jim Brown, Cleveland Browns
2003: Mark McCormack, IMG
2004: Bob Feller, Cleveland Indians
2005: Richard E. Jacobs, Former Owner of the Cleveland Indians
2006: Herbert J. Score, Pitcher and Announcer for Cleveland Indians
2007: Joe Tait, Broadcaster for the Cleveland Cavaliers
2008: Chuck Kyle, Head Varsity Football Coach for St. Ignatius High School
2009: Bob Kain, Former GCSC Board Chair 
2010: Dr. John A Bergfield, Cleveland Clinic
2011: Austin Carr, Cleveland Cavaliers
2012: Doug Dieken, Cleveland Browns
2013: Bernie Kosar, Cleveland Browns
2014: Tom Hamilton, Voice of the Cleveland Indians
2015: Jim Donovan, Voice of Cleveland Browns
2016: Mike Hargrove, Cleveland Indians
2017: Zydrunas Ilgauskas, Cleveland Cavaliers
2018: Sandy Alomar, Jr., Cleveland Indians

Cleveland Clinic Sports Health Courage Award

2001: Tony Franklin, Football, St. Peter Chanel High School
2002: Aimee Dombrowski, Cross Country, Beaumont High School
2003: Steven Steele, Football & Basketball, Black River High School
2004: Jamie Supan, Basketball & Track & Field, Kenston High School
2005: Ahmad Motley, Football & Wrestling, Shaker Heights High School
2006: Mariano Gannon, Football, Rocky River High School
2007: Jeff Mayer, Football, Case Western Reserve University
2008: Eric Anderson Jr., Basketball, Gilmour Academy
2009: Gyasi Cooper, Track & Field, Saint Ignatius High School
2010: Olivia Warhop, Soccer & Swimming, Hathaway Brown High School
2011: Brandee Kelly, Basketball, Cleveland State University
2012: Molly Miller, Soccer, Notre Dame Academy
2013: Courteney Belmonte, Competitive Cheerleading, Westlake High School
2014: Nick Lenyo, Football, Huron High School
2015: Colin Teets, Hockey, Westlake High School
2016: Kendra Seitz, Competitive Swimming, Hudson Middle School
2017: Samer Babi, Football, North Olmsted High School
2018: Sophia Pecjak, Soccer & Basketball, Lake Catholic High School

Best Moment presented by JACK Entertainment

2004: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
2011: Joe Tait's Farewell,  Final Cleveland Cavaliers Broadcast
2012: St. Ignatius/Mentor OHSAA Division I Playoff Game
2013: Jason Giambi's walkoff home run vs. Chicago White Sox
2014: Cleveland Cavaliers Home Opener
2015: Cleveland Cavaliers Playoff Run
2016: Cleveland Cavaliers NBA Finals Championship
2017: Cleveland Indians 22-Game Win Streak
2018: Browns Breadkthrough Season/Thursday Night Football Win vs. Jets

Sports Development Gold Medalist Award

2006: Ted Ginn, Sr.
2007: Joe LoPresti
2010: Chris Kallai, USA Wrestling & Claude Holland, USA Track & Field
2011: Ron and Joan Ganim, Gymnastics World
2012: Chris Wilke, American Collegiate Hockey Association
2013: Mark Ownes, Gaelic Games
2014: Nancy Desmond, assisted with NEOCycle
2015: Lifebanc, assisted with Transplant Games of America
2016: Mid-American Conference, Northeast Ohio Division I collegiate league
2017: Quicken Loans Arena, furthering Cleveland as a host city for major sporting events
2018: Cleveland Triathlon Club, assisted with USA Triathlon Age Group Nationals

Photo Gallery

1 of 22